Local Government Innovation Awards- LGIA 2016

Local Government Innovation Awards

LGIA 10th Anniversary

LGIA 10th Anniversary (1:15)

Are you a school, city, township, or county that has been innovating to improve services or reduce the cost of local government? Share your innovation for a chance to win $5,000 and a professional video highlighting your effort!

Minnesota faces the reality of an aging population, rising health care costs, and increasing demand for government services with reduced revenue. Yet many counties, cities, townships, and schools have refused to let the traditional approaches of either increasing taxes or cutting spending dictate their responses to these challenges. Instead, they are pursuing a third way: innovation and service redesign.

The Local Government Innovation Awards recognizes the creative ways counties, cities, townships and schools are making Minnesota better and doing things differently. All types of local government innovation are encouraged to enter.

Up to 20 local government entities will be recognized as award winners for their innovation. The winner in each of the four categories will also receive a professional video highlighting their work and a $5,000 grant from the Bush Foundation to continue local government innovation and redesign!


This year's awards will honor up to 20 local government entities (five cities, five counties, five townships and five schools).

One overall winner in each category will be awarded a $5,000 grant from the Bush Foundation.

Please note that these grants must be used exclusively for charitable, public purposes and cannot be used for direct or grassroots lobbying efforts.

In 2016, the Local Government Innovation Awards is celebrating its tenth anniversary. To acknowledge this milestone and the history of the awards, we would like to look back at past award winners and recognize those winners whose projects have created a lasting impact. One past winner will be selected as the Top Innovator. They will receive a plaque and recognition at the December awards ceremony and on the LGIA website and outreach material. Past award winners will complete a brief entry form providing an update on their past entry and its continued impact in the community. The entry period will take place during the regular award entry period September 19 - October 12.

Entries accepted: September 19 - October 12, 2016

Awards Ceremony: December 8 2016, 4-6pm